My Path To Being a Realtor

FullSizeRender 3

I was and am called to ministry. I know I am. (I also know I AM!) When circumstances prevailed for me to pursue another way to provide for my family, I searched LinkedIn, Monster, USAJobs, AmeriCorp, UAJobs, City Jobs and more. I promise it was more. Nothing! Absolutely nothing!! I did get an interview at Lowe’s but did not get the call back. With a bachelor’s degree and two master’s degrees I was not qualified for anything.

Two years earlier I could see the storm clouds rising and thought of becoming a REALTOR. I grew up around construction,  real estate sales, was president of Concrete Cutters and Breakers (a construction and demolition company) so I have knowledge of Tuscaloosa and housing. So about a year ago I began my pursuit to get my real estates sales license. Those who are closest to me, especially my prayer group, knew my heart was not in it. Why? I know I am called to ministry. I never ceased pastoring and founded One Church Tuscaloosa with some great people and that continues today. I never wanted to do anything else. However, life demanded that I do.

Ministry found me or I found ministry in being a REALTOR. Being able to help people with one of the biggest decisions of their life and most likely the biggest financial decision of their life, ministry happens. It is not in a sermon. It is not in a lesson. It is in hands on helping people find the right home. Seeing someone for the first time be able to buy a home when they never thought it possible is ministry. Seeing a boy run through a back yard and ask his mom, “Can we make this our home?”, is ministry. I have not sold any big homes with great commissions but I have been able to help some people find their first home that they could call their own. It is ministry!! I love people and to see the joy in their eyes is very fulfilling. To help them put a plan in place to achieve a dream is ministry. I have found my voice in my vocational calling.

I am in ministry as a pastor.

I am in ministry as a REALTOR.

I can now say with the same passion that I love being a pastor and I love being a REALTOR.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts,

   neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord.

For as the heavens are higher than the earth

so are my ways higher than your ways

and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

Isaiah 55:8-9 (ESV)

My Real Estate Website: Dan.WeSellTuscaloosa.com

REALTOR® in all caps because it is a registered term.

Leave a Reply

